thescribblednotebook

The Musical Muse

In Writing on April 5, 2013 at 11:02 am

A Lost Word

I find music is a HUGE inspiration when writing. It helps to set the mood and really get inside the heads of your characters so you understand what they are doing and why they are doing it.

One of the things I’ve found really helpful is to assign certain pieces of music to parts of my book. This is made easier by the fact that the plot of ‘A Lost Word’ is divided into six distinct parts. By using music in this way, I find it much easier to jump between writing different chapters, not to mention keeping track of the plot timeline.

So here’s how I’ve divided everything up:

Part One: A Beginning

Part Two: This Illustrious House

Part Three: Pastiche 

Part Four: Redux

Part Five: Ghosts

Part Six: An End

Each section actually has it’s own dedicated playlist, but these tracks are sort of theme-tunes for each part.

What do you listen to to get yourself in the writing zone?

  1. Honestly, music is a huge part of my writing. I love how it inspires me when creating the scenes in my mind, that then flow out through my fingertips. Music is to the soul, what food is to our bodies. ❤

Leave a Reply

