thescribblednotebook

I’m Writing a Novel!

In Writing on June 3, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Yes, I've already thought about what the cover should look like...

Yes readers, that’s right – I’m writing a novel. I’ve wanted to write a novel for ages and then I wrote this script for a short drama piece earlier this year that didn’t get put into production and thought it would be the perfect basis for a novel.

The important bits:

What: A novel called ‘It Was Summer’

Who: Three main characters; Annabelle, Edith and Charles

When: The 1920’s

Why: Because I want to write it…?

How: When ever I get a chance.

So there it is. I’ll be posting updates and excerpts as I go along. For now, I shall leave you with the opening so far:

” It was hot. Too hot.  Annabelle brushed a stray lock of hair from her face before pulling up the faded sleeves of her work dress and carrying on. She scrubbed harder and harder, until every last bit of dirt had been scraped off of the wooden floorboards. If  only her mother could see her now. She’d say this was degrading, undermining of the family honour. Of course she’d say this was typical of Annabelle, that she had always had a strange bent to dishonour them all. Annabelle smirked slightly as she scrubbed.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

